Bridge Over the Raritan River

Local Government

The Borough was incorporated by an Act of the New Jersey Legislature from portions of both Lebanon and Tewksbury Townships on April 2, 1918. Califon is governed under the Borough form of New Jersey municipal government. The government consists of a Mayor and a Borough Council comprising six council members, with all positions elected at large. A Mayor is elected directly by the voters to a four-year term of office. The Borough Council consists of six members elected to serve three-year terms on a staggered basis, with two seats coming up for election each year.

The Mayor of Califon Borough is Charles Daniel. Members of the Califon Borough Council are listed below.

E Mail
Charles Daniel, Mayor
Michael Medea, Council President
Charles (Mike) Reaves
Leo Janas
Richard Baggstrom
Joseph Riccio
Ed Haversang